Posted by: barn owl | December 8, 2008

Handspun Wool Hat

hat

As I was sorting through the contents of some storage boxes, I found several balls of handspun yarn that a friend gave me over 10 years ago. One ball looked to be worsted weight, and the other two DK weight. I decided to knit a hat from the handspun wool, using the pattern “Mari” from Cathy Carron’s book Hip Knit Hats: 40 Fabulous Designs. This pattern was knit from the top down, with a moss stitch “rise”, for which I plied together the light (Lincoln) and dark DK yarns. Quick to knit, and fits very well; I’m quite pleased with this pattern, and the warmth of the handspun wool. Photographed with a background of passionflower vine.

Leave a Reply

Categories

