Posted by: barn owl | July 13, 2008

Bigby Birding from Horseback

Via A DC Birding Blog, I learned of the Big Green Big Year (Bigby) birding project, which promotes local birdwatching, as opposed to traveling (and using loads of fuel) to spot as many bird species as possible. I decided to have a go while I was riding my Thoroughbred gelding at the ranch today, and here are the birds I spotted (and could positively identify):

Black Vulture
Turkey Vulture
Cattle Egret
Mockingbird
Northern Cardinal
Vermilion Flycatcher
Scissor-tailed Flycatcher
Eastern Kingbird
Western Kingbird
Mourning Dove
Barn Swallow
Purple Martin
House Sparrow
Red-winged Blackbird
Great-tailed Grackle

We also checked on the peaches in the larger trees near the house, and they are still a bit too green to pick. However, the peaches near the machine shed are ready, and here is today’s haul, along with peppers from the garden:

peppers

Serious science post up this evening, I promise!

Responses

  1. Cool list! I wish Vermilion and Scissor-tailed Flycatchers were local birds for me.

  2. No photo or drawing will do justice to the color of the male Vermilion Flycatcher, and I think most also fail to capture the pink-ness of the Scissor-tailed underside.

    I suspect the Vermilion Flycatchers have a nest in a tree near the riding arena-they seem almost tame, or friendly, though I know they’re probably interested in the insects stirred up or attracted by the horse. Still, not bad company for a summer morning!


Leave a Reply

Categories

