Posted by: barn owl | April 24, 2009

Use It Up

A colleague of mine told me that her parents had a Depression-era mantra: Use it up, wear it out, make do, or do without. Since our current era includes an economic depression, I decided to try to adopt this mantra myself. Recently, a friend gave me a large box of yarn, left over from projects that her mother (now deceased) had completed. It’s all acrylic yarn, and I wanted to use it in some way, so I decided to make a washable afghan from a very simple single crochet pattern. I’ve made several of these for family and friends, and the afghan works up quite quickly with a size Q crochet hook, and holding two strands of yarn together. Here’s what the Use It Up afghan looks like so far:

afghan

There were a number of red, white, and blue yarn skeins in the box, and I had some blue yarn left from an afghan I’d made for my nephew. The afghan will be patriotic-looking as a result, so perhaps I can donate it to a charity for veterans.

One of the ideas for Earth Day resolutions that I read about was “Vegan Before 6:00″. I decided to try this, but I adapted it to be a little more flexible: two vegan meals per day, my choice. Today lunch and dinner are vegan, and for lunch, I made the Spicy Eggplant Pasta Salad with Calamata Olives, from Susann Geiskopf-Hadler and Mindy Toomay’s book The Vegan Gourmet. Here’s what it looks like:

eggplant

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

